“Toto, I’ve a feeling we’re not in “Miami” anymore….”

6 Dec

Today driving to work I came to a cross street, which is pretty busy during the rush morning traffic. As I was approaching the street I notice that the traffic light (the salvation for motorist!) was out… and I was on the end of the flashing RED light side… DAMN! I knew I was going to be stuck.

But something funny happen on the way to the farm… the line keep moving at a steady pace… as I got closer and closer to the turn (I needed to me a left) I felt transported to another time and frankly another place – it was just spooking me out. People were actually doing what they were supposed to do in this type of situation; they were practicing the 4-way stop and WERE NICE and orderly about it too!!!

This folks is the equivalent of winning a big prize in my world. I lived in Miami for over 18 years and if I was in a cross street there during my morning commute, I would still be sitting on the car screaming and pulling my hair out trying to accomplish one thing: moving a fraction of an inch closer to the light so I can cut in front of people and make my left turn.

Well, you can take the girl out of the city… but you cannot take the city out of the girl!

Leave a Reply

