The Friends Network… in full force!

30 Mar

Life has a way of showing you that we are insignificant at times, it throws you those hidden curves and expects you to sometimes hang there before it pushes you over the edge of desperation and helpless circumstances. Some people submit to this and can never find their way out of the darkness, others know that it cannot be done alone and seek help, some will find it, others will not.

I can honestly say that I’m lucky or if we get more spiritual, very blessed. In the past months life has just be full of curves and desperate circumstances and most time I had to reach out and not ask, but shout (on top of my lungs) for help or be lost completely. And my shouts had brought me a huge support system: a group of friends and from the most unlikely places. Friends I did not even know I had.

They have help to validate me as a sane (sometimes very hard to do) stable person, one that should be proud of who she is, where she comes from and what her belief are and the fact that I should not compromise that easily. They have been there hearing my B.S. and my complaining and bitchin. They have taken me to dinner and made sure I had enough liquor to listen to reason, (always a good thing to do when I’m completely irrational and not in the right mind to listen to it). They have sat with me and passed the box of Kleenex when I needed to cry a river of tears. They have been there to show encouragement, give me advice (very good advice). They have made me laugh and they have showed me time and time again, that no, it’s not the end of the fucking world and I better shape up and get my shit together or they will beat me up.

I’m humble to know that not everyone can say the same and so very grateful for them. Today one of those friends sent me 21 rules to live by and you know what? I could not have said it better… Post it somewhere close by and refer to it daily…

  1. Give people more than they expect and do it cheerfully.
  2. Marry someone you love to talk to. As you get older, their conversational skills will be as important as any other.
  3. Don’t believe all you hear, spend all you have, or sleep all you want.
  4. When you say “I love you”, mean it.
  5. When you say “I’m sorry”, look the person in the eye.
  6. Be engaged at least six months before you get married.
  7. Believe in love at first sight.
  8. Never laugh at anyone’s dreams. People who don’t have dreams don’t have much.
  9. Love deeply and passionately. You might get hurt, but it’s the only way to live life completely.
  10. In disagreements, fight fairly. Please no name calling.
  11. Don’t judge people by their relatives.
  12. Talk slowly but think quickly.
  13. When someone asks you a question you don’t want to answer, smile and ask “Why do you want to know?”.
  14. Remember that great love and great achievements involve great risk.
  15. Say “bless you” when you hear someone sneeze.
  16. When you lose, don’t lose the lesson. R
  17. Remember the three R’s: Respect for self; Respect for others; Responsibility for all your actions.
  18. Don’t let a little dispute injure a great friendship.
  19. When you realize you’ve made a mistake, take immediate steps to correct it.
  20. Smile when picking up the phone. The caller will hear it in your voice.
  21. Spend some time alone.
Leave a Reply

