So are you single, married, or gay?

5 Apr

Yesterday, I was invited to a pre-party of the grand opening of our very own Wild Oats Natural Marketplace. This is a great thing, it means that my town is fast approaching “city” status, plus if there is anything that I miss the most when moving from Miami it was the local Whole Foods.

Anyway…

I was there early and stood in line (it seems I was not the ONLY one invited to this) and listened to a nice little jazz band playing while thinking of all of the goodies that we were going to be offered inside. They had a grill going outside the kebabs looked amazing.

Folks, nothing makes for a Tuesday night like FREE food.

At 6pm on the dot, they started to let us in and then I was witness and subject to the outpouring of bad manners, shoving, pushing and total disregard for the fellow man (or in this case women). I mean there was plenty to go around, they had about 50 food stations all over the market, they had waiters walking around with trays of cheese and samples of food… we were in a SUPERMARKET it’s NOT like they were going to RUN OUT OF FOOD. But, nevertheless… people acted like this was going to be their last supper! The skipped their places in the waiting lines. They would stop the lines by standing there talking! The nerve of them… Didn’t the realized that they were a hungry crowd on their backs??? Nevertheless, my sister and I worked out a plan of attack and ended up sampling about 7 different samples of cheeses, cookies, 4 different types of spreads, sushi, crackers, salsa, chips, 3 types of meats, chicken, salad, pies, ice creams, smoothies, sparkling sodas and took a bunch of samples from the health center.

Then as we were walking out we encounter this little morsel:

Yes, folks non other than Tyler Florence from the Food Network. Sitting pretty as can be signing autographs. Now, I know that for some of you this may not be the ultimate celebrity sighting… but I’m a cook! I watch the Food Network as religiously as going to the movies to salivate over George Clooney and the Brad Pitts of the world. It took me all of 2 milliseconds to grab a book and stand in line. By the time I was face to face with the man, I had worked myself into a frenzy of energy and girly behavior. And boy did he look yummy. Of course, my sister made it all worth while, when she asked him:

“So, are you single, married or plain gay?”

Yes, a great ending to a somehow boring Tuesday night.

Leave a Reply

