Adulthood, and eye opener

8 Oct

Today, my paternal grandmother passed away.

While I was a child, I very closed to my nonna (as we called her) and I adore her. She was the one that taught me to cook, make the bed the proper way, iron the proper way and so many other things, that I child learns while growing up. I have fond memories of her, one that clearly comes to mind is me, about 5 or 6 years old sitting on top of her kitchen table (which still sits in her kitchen) with a bowl of cake batter and the spatula waiting for her to crack the eggs so I could mix it up inside the batter. I was so impatient, and she was careful to point out that things in life need to be taken slow and enjoy, because you never know when those moments will change.

Unfortunately, as I grew older, the adult in me saw her flaws and faults and realized that she was not the woman to be, the woman that as a child, I loved unconditionally and with no reserved. I lost respect for her and could never recovered from that, I broke all communications from her and for the past 3 years of so, have not spoken a word to her.

Today, when I heard the news, it made me a bit sad, and deep down I wish that in death she has found a bit of peace that in life elude her.

One Response to “Adulthood, and eye opener”

  1. Diane Mandy October 10, 2007 at 2:22 am #

    I’m sorry. I do understand your feelings. I also had a difficult relationship with my Nanny, and broke off communication with her before her death. But it sounds like you have come to terms with it all and for this I am very happy for you.

Leave a Reply

