“Your couch it sucks, mine is better…” yours? It goes. Mine? It stays.

22 Jul

And once more, I join the co-habitation merry-go-round.  Tom and I decided (with a bit of a push from unplanned source) that we needed to merger our household into one because a) we will save lots of “mooola” and b) he now MUST take out the trash and fold the laundry every time. 

In my relationship background I have done this twice before.  The first time I was so green that I actually accepted living with the family of the boyfriend at the time – Yes, I WAS CRAZY in love and apparently a few screws loose in the head.  That lasted about 1 year (with the family) and about 2 more years without.  What I learn?  I hate to share a bathroom with a guy, and leaving the cap off the toothpaste drives me bat-shit.  

The second time I was a bit older, more mature and this time no family in sight!  This one lasted 4 years.  What I learn? I hate to share a bathroom with a guy, unless it’s a BIG bathroom and leaving the cap off the toothpaste still drives me bat-shit.  The kitchen is my domain, I hate to do laundry and no matter what I say, if I cook, I don’t do dishes. 

For the last 6 month Tom and I have shared houses… he stays at mine, I stayed at his …and overall we have been polite in the sharing of households… hidden translation: at his house the cap off the toothpaste? Not a matter of life and death (I still count to 10)… At my house? All hell breaks loose, fortunately, that boy has been able to keep up. 

So this past week I have been in major freak out mode.  Packing up your house and making the decision of what goes, what stays and how to tell convince the boyfriend that the ugly chair is not making the cut in the furniture war has been a horrible ordeal and my mind is about to explode.  In times like this I wish I had the super powers to wiggle my nose and make things happen NOW and sit back and just baste in the fruit of others labor.

And since Tom and are just up to our brains in pressure and stress, we have decided to add to the mix and remodel his house.  So in the next few months, we will be tearing up about ½ of his house and redo bathrooms, kitchen, master bedroom and closets plus dinning/living room – in order words ALL of the house.

I will continue to freak out, but this time while choosing tiles, paint colors, cabinets and handling power tools at the same time.

I say we are moving in the right direction in the relationship… if we can survive this, I pretty much can let the cap off the toothpaste episode go… (most of the time).

9 Responses to ““Your couch it sucks, mine is better…” yours? It goes. Mine? It stays.”

  1. Russ July 22, 2008 at 4:25 pm #

    I guess what you need is to decide what you really want,either you wanna share a bathroom or no or have a family without pathetic mind change things.I don’y know how old are you,but it seems you have a long way to go.

    Anywho,good luck with everything else

  2. Monica July 22, 2008 at 5:02 pm #

    God I love comments that DON”T make sense don’t you? Anyone want to jump in and translate what Russ means, because I have read it over and over and I still don’t get it… must be that I’m too young to understand the maturity level of his comment post… mmmmm

  3. batguano101 July 22, 2008 at 7:53 pm #

    Here is a simple comment to understand.

    Get married and do it right.
    Anything else is going to be misery and waste,
    no matter how bullet proof you think you are.
    Some things work, some do not.

  4. Monica July 22, 2008 at 9:48 pm #

    batguano… and you are the authority in relationships?… what may be right for one may not be right for another… to assume that NOT GETTING married before living together will bring waste and misery is a HUGE stretch.. but then most marrow minded thinkers are like that.

  5. batguano101 July 23, 2008 at 12:15 pm #

    Monica-
    It has nothing to do with what I think.
    There are physical laws.
    Gravity is a physical law.
    You can shout at the top of your lungs gravity does not exist
    as you step off a cliff, but it does not change the outcome.
    There are also spiritual laws.
    Shout all you want they do not exist as you violate them, the results are the same.

  6. Monica July 23, 2008 at 12:30 pm #

    Love it when people tell others to live by their belief and standards… and try to “coat it” in logic.

    Spiritual Laws? shit, that is a new twist on it. I never knew that being good, following the “live and let live” ideal was a law… I figure it was COMMON sense and being HUMAN KIND.

    But to tell me that my way of living my relationship will bring misery and waste from someone that does not know anything about me or my partner seems a bit immature and narrow minded… and then to cloak it behind being spiritual is just plain stupid.

  7. batguano101 July 23, 2008 at 4:48 pm #

    It has nothing to do with “my” standards and beliefs.
    It is just what works and what does not.
    Just keep screaming there is no gravity.
    No problem.
    File this away in the back of your mind.
    It may come in handy some day.

  8. Mo July 25, 2008 at 1:33 am #

    batguano ????
    Oh, I get it !
    You’re full of shit !
    How fitting.

  9. Monica July 25, 2008 at 2:45 am #

    Love you Mo!

Leave a Reply

