The one where “I’m not Monica, from Friends”

25 Jul

I been packing my house like a wild person. I’m up to boxes, and newsprint paper, and tape and tape dispensers and markers that work and sometimes no so much. Pre-printed stickers for box identification, color dots for … ah, screw it, all this means one thing:

MY.HOUSE IS.A.MESS!

Now for those that know me… you know that this is driving me nuts. (Ok, ok.. more than nuts – I COME CLEAN PEOPLE – I’m ready to call it quits and walk out of the mess) See, I thrive on a orderly house… I’m not anal about it (ok, ok… maybe a tiny bit, but not like Monica in Friends) but, when my house is in order, all is right with the world.  It’s my center, some people paint, some play music…. Me? I love having my house tidy and clean and the towels all stacked up just right, facing.. ahh, where was I? O yes, the point is that this disarray is causing the world (at least mine) to be very chaotic, and NOT in a good way.

To make matters a bit worse, the weather gods, apparently, have decided to throw in another curve ball and have sent our way rain, upon rain, upon rain (People it has not STOPPED raining for the last THREE DAYS!). This pisses me off, since I cannot pile up the packed boxes to my car and place them in the storage. My living room is now an obstacle course that can make the Wipeout show producers proud.

My cats know that something is up and have begun to retaliate by leaving me presents around the mess, which of course I end up finding days after, when I move this box from there to there, in order to put the new box THERE, so I can walk to THERE.

*Sigh*

I’m at my wits end.  And poor Tom has been a trouper. He basically has smarted up and constantly uses the excuse that he needs to “prepare” his house for my arrival (he has a list from me) and has made the sane decision to stay the hell away from me until I’m properly moved. He knows that if he stays, nothing good will come out of it.

The thing is that this feeling of relief will not last very much once I settle at his house, because THEN we will start on the remodeling of the master bedroom and bathroom, and that folks is another whole mess!

The only highlight of all of this? The light at the end of MINE tunnel?

No, Its not cake…or ice cream… its not even the knowlege of a brand new pair of shoes (that I really, really deserve right now) its not even the peace of mind that is it will soon be OVER… its the fact that a trip to IKEA in the near horizon.

One Response to “The one where “I’m not Monica, from Friends””

  1. AlexM August 12, 2008 at 10:19 pm #

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

