In the ‘hood

11 Aug

I’m at the new house… And I still can not bring myself to call it “my house”, because, well its not mine… it’s Tom’s house and as much as he has told me “its your house, totally yours, do what you want with it… you have a free pass on all of it”… I just can not feel it.

I know that deep down the main reason is that the decision to move in together, to his house, was a forced upon us.  Don’t get me wrong, eventually this was going to happen, we spoke about moving together for a quite a bit … but, it was going to be totally different, in our terms in OUR house.. one that we looked for together and agonized about it together and signed on the dotted line TOGETHER (see the recurring theme here?) allowing the “bank” to come to bed with us in exchange of a 4 bedroom, 2 bath, great kitchen and backyard – better known as the American dream! (in 30 year time).

That is not to say that the existing house does not suit, because it has potential, as in we can remodel it in order to adapted it into our vision…So the last couple of days we have been building shelfs, cleaning and basically drawing plans and making shopping list.

I’m also getting in tune with my new neighboorhood.

See,  Tom ah, welll,  cough, cough* lives in the ‘hood… My new neighbors are covered in prison tattoos and grinning gold teeth.. ….not the IDEAL location for the house or the future we have plan together. That does not mean that things have NOT shock me in the past few days of living in the ‘hood… like the fact that everything in the ‘hood is well… cheap.  Cutting the grass? $15 bucks… cleaning the backyard that its full of trash and debris… $100 bucks – BARGAIN!  Lose the dog (this happen yesterday, when the cheap gardener, let the gate loose and Rufus, the 120 pound dog, got out… ) just ask your friendly prostitute if they seen a big dog, and get the address of the man that took the dog.  I’m telling I have never had so many friendly neighboors in my life!  Ok, the interest is to score some money in order to SCORE other substance as well… but, if cheap labor comes with it, why.in.the.hell.NOT?

Of course I had Tom install like 5 locks all over the house.

2 Responses to “In the ‘hood”

  1. Mo August 13, 2008 at 12:08 am #

    Hey, you can still have ur American dream house ! Instead of putting money into this house, put the money in the bank, sell this house and then buy your dream home ! ! ! !

    from your financial adviser 🙂

  2. Beelze August 21, 2008 at 5:52 am #

    Screw Ikea…..Get a gun, get ammo, get training.

Leave a Reply

