Ready to see some sunrise

9 Sep

Why does it feel like the last 2-3 month or so I started each post apologizing for being away from the blog?

:slapping head: DUH! Because its true?

Yeah, well, been busy, busy, busy… with what? I wish I could say the following…

“I won the lottery and been traveling all over the world, with limited internet access”

Yeah.. no dice, I don’t believe it myself either. (but I got a lotto ticket just in case!)

Instead, for those that have not paid attention with the very limited posting, here is a simple recap

  1. I met a guy, who made my insides turn Topsy curvy
  2. fell in love with the guy
  3. fought with the family for the guy
  4. moved out of my old place into “our” new place with the guy
  5. started remodeling the new place (without a contractor)
  6. have seriously been promoted with more responsibilities (sadly not salary) at work.

As you can see, down time has not been my friend for a while now.

While I totally dig 1 and 2 on the list, the rest has taken its toll on me, no only mentally but physically as well.  For a while I felt like I was just going through the motions of every day life.  And for the past week or so have woken up and realized that “holy shit, 2 months have gone by!”  followed with the following thought:  “God, I need a serious vacation”.

And in 9 days I get my wish… I will be traveling up to Maine, specifically here

The main attraction? Meeting all of Tom’s family.   The reason, while it will be a family reunion, sadly it does not have a pretty reason. A week after Tom and I started to date, his father passed away… (we been lucky that something so tragic in the life of a person brought us closer instead of tearing us apart.) and this trip is in memory of his dad.  Most of his family (all 29 of them) will be meeting up for a weekend of remembrance and serious sports (hiking, biking, swimming and putt-putt)  It seem that his father was a man that enjoy triathlons… so the weekend is filled with all sorts of planned activities.  Most which involved waking up at six in the morning.

I.NOT.EVEN.JOKING people

We got the invitation and with it, the agenda and it states clearly the “start time” for the activities and sure it enough there it was: SIX-A-CLOCK-IN-THE-FREAKING-MORNING.

You could hear me from miles away…

“WHATTTTTTTTTTTTTT?????????? No way in hell, no how, I’m going to use my vacation time to actually wake up earlier than I do when I go to work at home”

Tom’s response: “Suck-it-up babe, you will love it, plus the highlight is Acadia National Park and trust me, you will be blown away”

Ok, I google it and found this bit of a fact:

“Cadillac Mountain in Acadia National Park is the tallest mountain along the eastern coast of the United States. During certain times of the year, it is the first place in the U.S. to see sunrise.”

So, now I’m excited.

Specially since I will be wearing my new leader jacket that I totally got on sale this past weekend, when we went hunting for hiking boots for Tom.  I mean I’m totally ready to see a sunrise in this kind of leather:

And the best part of it? I can wear it, again, almost a week later when I take my yearly vacation to this place

3 Responses to “Ready to see some sunrise”

  1. Diane Mandy September 12, 2008 at 9:36 am #

    Your going to ARGENTINA??????? So so so so jealous.

  2. Monica September 12, 2008 at 11:53 am #

    said the person that is one strone away from France, Italy, Greece, Spain.. *cough-cough*

    who is jealous now?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In touch with my wilderness nature - Day 1 « MACA’s WORLD - September 24, 2008

    […] the runway, total of 4 hour car ride (3 in Maine, 1 in Florida) I’m back home from my trip to Bar Harbor, […]

Leave a Reply

