20 minus 3 equals 17

3 Dec

And that internt is the number of days (as of today) that are left before I hit the big FOUR-O number. As in FORTY… as in HOLY SHIT, I’m going to be the dreaded four-zero!

Where.in.the.hell.has.the.time.gone?

Because, it seems like only yesterday I was drinking shots, and dancing on top of tables. Instead now I’m drinking water wine, and going to bed by nine. Because this tired body can not sustain the abuse that I put it through on my twenties and my thirties.

The body? Yeah, well it’s telling me that is pay-back-time.

The thing is that as much as I want to be freaked out about the whole thing. I’m not – ok, maybe when as I get closer to the date, I may change my mind.  But, for now, I’m actually ok with it.  I mean, I don’t feel forty (or at least what forty should feel like), I certainly do not look forty (but, then lots of people look better today than what they did in their 20’s!) so all that combination is helping me forget that I’m hitting a milestone.. as in I’m entering my “middle-age” – thining hair, droppy boobs, and heartburn does not apply.

Big birthdays are benchmarks and as I look back, I feel I never been in a better place in my life. (it will be even better if I win the lottory tonight, we can still dream big right?)  For the first time there’s a sense of accepting who I am rather than of being what someone else expects.  I have someone who adores me (love you Boo!), I have a great group of friends (HI GUYS!), I have my family, who can be a pain in the butt, but I love unconditionally anyway.  I have a job and a roof over my head (where many today don’t have one).  Ok, if I’m honest, I may not have everything I once thought I wanted.  But, I guess as we age, it’s easier to see what we want and how to achieve it.  In my twenties I had no a clue of what I wanted.  In my thirties I was to busy doing what I should have been doing in my twenties, mainly those shots and table dancing episodes. Now with my “forty” around the corner, I have taken stock and see what I have accomplished and I’m happy and proud of them, even as I realized that it’s not as much as I dreamed.

But oh boy have I learned things along the way… so here are some of the reasons I’m going to embrace turning 40 in seventeen days…

YOU’RE wiser, after decades of burning the candle at both ends- by saying yes to everyone, you have finally learned when to say ‘no’ – and boy do I have that one down pat! (Except when it comes to my mother, I still cannot say ‘no’ to her).

A LOT has happened in your life which makes you a better person to sit next to, according to actress Jodie Foster. She said: “I think women are more interesting in their 40s. They’ve lived longer, they’re more confident about their choices and they don’t have to be hip and cool any more, which I think is a godsend–you make really bad choices when you are trying to be hip.”

A woman over 40 will never wake her other half in the middle of the night and ask, “What are you thinking?” (Oh Please)

YOU lived through the Eighties the first time around, which means today you’re wise enough to avoid hideous style revivals like luminous clothes, jump suits and leg warmers.

You stop worrying about what people think and begin being true to yourself. (No more pleasing people that don’t like you anyway) “At the age of 20, we don’t care what the world thinks of us; at 30, we worry about what it is thinking of us; at 40, we discover that it wasn’t thinking of us at all.”

You realize age isn’t a number but how you feel! “Age is an issue of mind over matter. If you don’t mind it doesn’t matter!”

It’s HIP to be 40!

Leave a Reply

