3 Days left to the countdown… and there may be an emergency in the horizon

16 Dec

And I think I may freak out a bit.

While I would have loved to take off to a far away land to celebrate this thing called “turning old”.  It was not meant to be… 1) No more vacation time at work. 2) Do you know how hard is to get 11 people in the same program? No? – You can ask the BFF, who has spend the last 2 weeks battling with everyone on planned dinner party for the event.  Because people keep trying to CHANGE the plans that they originally agreed with.

And yes, I will be celebrating turning the FOUR-O with a small dinner party.  Is what I wanted, nothing big, fancy or with a lot of fuss – see how simple my taste and wants are as I get older?  The plan was to have everyone dress up and show up to have a meal together in a place that served plenty of liquor, because if there is any indication, it will be NEEDED – badly! good food.  And then move on to the main event – the cutting of the cake.

That was the plan.

Plans apparently do change.

My mother,  called me today to discuss the “cake”.  WITH FOUR THREE DAYS TO THE EVENT!  I almost started hyperventilating over the phone when the conversation started with her saying: “About the cake, we have not ordered it yet (WHAT???) … but, don’t panic. (OF COURSE NOT MOTHER!!! Let me breath in and out, in and out) What type do you like? With butter cream? With Fondant? What Flavor? ”

There was silence on the line.  I was still trying to imagine that it was all a big, bad, joke (part of the pre-festivity games or something) but…

Not to be, she was serious.

And I died another little death when I realized how serious she was.

Because, if anyone really knows me, they know that its not about the dressing up, or the food, or all sitting down in the table to eat or even the pictures or the birthday gifts (ok, maybe… well sort of).  This whole production is about the CAKE!  It’s ALL ABOUT THE CAKE.

And my mother has waited THREE DAYS before the event to place the order of the main attraction!

I feel there may be an emergency in the horizon.

Hold me.

2 Responses to “3 Days left to the countdown… and there may be an emergency in the horizon”

  1. Mo December 17, 2008 at 6:16 pm #

    Your sister has graciously taken care of the cake.

    Emergency averted!

    Please retrun to DEFCON 5
    🙂

  2. Mo December 17, 2008 at 6:18 pm #

    Your sister has graciously taken care of the cake.

    Emergency averted!

    Please retrun to DEFCON 5
    🙂

Leave a Reply

