The one where my car is totally messing with my head

13 Jan

I have a VW cabrio.  I love the car, it’s a car that I wanted for a very long time, mostly because I live in Florida and come on, sunny days, all but shouts “convertible”!

I had the car for over 5 years.  It gets paid off on Feb 2010 – FINALLY!  Of course like any car the 4th year marks the “not-so-rosy-car-functionality-years-ahead”.  Its like the car makers make a ticking bomb on the car that as soon as the 4-year mark is passed (meaning no more warranty)… the car starts giving you those pesky little problems.  Lights start to turn on, and power windows become unstable, and things start to peel off and all of sudden the car needs to have a check-up every month.  And be totally treated with white gloves, or else it will become totally pissed off and really give you problems.

No wonder people lease.

Anyways, my car has been pretty good so far.  But, then I have never missed a tune up, oil change, and in some cases some extra TLC.  Then the 4-year-anniversay came and with it, a clutch replacement to the tune of $900+ bucks, that my extended warranty conveniently did-not-cover, new break pads and a major fix of the power window mechanisim (for the 4th time).  Other that that it has behave itself.  Until the A/C all of the sudden died on me. After a quote that involved selling an organ to pay for the rapair, I called it quits and decided that the car had won this round and I needed to run topless more often.  While on the side started to look at new cars.

Then the economy went to shits.

The car needed to stay and with it a huge amount of tolerance with it.  

Car – 2, Monica – 0

This past year, the engine light lighted-up on the dashboard.  I had it immediately checked, because shit it’s the ENGINE light!  After plucking to $90 bucks for the shop to run a diagnostic on it, it came back as a bunch of little things that was causing the light to go on (and stay on).  If I had the $700+ bucks to fix all the little things, the shop will make the light go away. 

The light stayed on

Until today

I had not even notice it before, but today, as I was driving to work, the engine light, the one that has been taunting me for the past year and I have been ignoring (hey, its seven hundred bucks!) has suddenly disappear.  It’s no longer on the dashboard of the car, blinking away at me.

I’m a bit relieved… and a bit worried. 

This could mean that the car decided to be nice and fixed it self.  Or that is fucking with me and waiting to give me a bigger problem to deal with.

3 Responses to “The one where my car is totally messing with my head”

  1. Diane Mandy January 13, 2009 at 6:02 pm #

    Ohhh! I’m hoping the problem went away. Is that hoping too much?

  2. Mo January 13, 2009 at 11:51 pm #

    Or the little bulb burned out. 🙂

  3. eusmaca January 14, 2009 at 2:06 am #

    O crap… maybe it did burned out… THANK GOD! lol
    I was still off when I drove home today… so maybe that is what happen… I need to check to see if it turns on when I turn the ignition key tomorrow …. lol

Leave a Reply

