Waiting

23 Jan

I hate waiting for anything.  In fact, I’m those type of people that I want what I want when I want it.

Yeah, not good.

I had to learn the HARD way (very hard way – trust me) that I need to learn the art of patience.  That good things come to those that wait.. and all that jazz shit.

I think I have gotten a handle on the waiting… because if I look back about 10-15 years ago (shit I’m old), then waiting back then was harder.  No Internet, no wireless access, no iPods, no on the moment updates, just sitting and waiting for everything to come to you eventually.

Today, we have instant updates about anything.

Case in point…

I’m sitting on the hospital waiting room.  My mother is having surgery today – nothing major, but surgery is surgery.  I had major surgery 3 times in my life.  I been knocked out and obviously the waiting had nothing to do with me.  I was told to count backwards and then woke up 5 hours later – none the wiser, and with a free- YOU GET DRUGS CARD at hand.

But the people that waited, while I was off in drug induce sleep?  Yeah, not so good for them.

Now I’m those people.  And last night I was all bend out of shape, because I knew the waiting was going to drive me nuts.  Plus, this was a new hospital and I had no clue what they offered up to make you come back for more.

So, I did a bit of prep last night….

and here I am, sitting in a comfy waiting room – 1 hour into the waiting phase, and I got 4 magazines, 1 book, the iPod, the MacBook (using!), and surrounded by  2 TV (I caught up all of the important news! – did you know that Obama is a night owl? And that making an Orange glaze french toast, with a side of creme is really not that hard). But, the best thing ever is a huge screen where my mother’s on-the-moment-status is flashed under an anonymous number every 5 minutes.  Right now she is shown green, meaning “procedure is in progress”… from there she will be a deep purple, and then to a gray, meaning that she will be all comfy in a room with her own Free “Drug card” at hand.

God, I love technology!

One Response to “Waiting”

  1. Diane Mandy January 26, 2009 at 5:11 pm #

    I hope your mom is doing well after her surgery.

Leave a Reply

