Neat Freak and proud of it.

8 Sep

Over this long weekend, there was a lot of TV watching, mainly because, FOR ONCE, we had nothing to do – did not have to go anywhere, or do anything. Just be and vegetate. So we watched a lot of Netflik movies that have been sitting there for months! And lots of TV.

While Tom concentrated on the Comedy network, I totally fell for reality TV. Have I told you how addicted to reality TV I am? Yes, it’s my dirty secret. And, I’m totally NOT apologizing for it. I get a kick of watching the dramas, and the ongoing wars, and the stupidity of people – and boy is there a lot of that.  But, this past weekend I think I meet my match.

While channel surfing I landed on a TV show called “Hoarder”. It’s shown in A&E and it’s a 60 minute of the most disturbing form of OCD issues. They usually show 2 different people whose inability to part with their belonging is so out of control that they are on the verge of a personal crisis. For some, throwing away even the tiniest thing – a sponge, a button, an empty box — is so painful that they will not be able to allow the cleaning to be completed, no matter the consequences.

One of the episode I watched featured a woman named Shirley with lots and lots of cats, living (and dying, apparently) amidst the clutter of her house. When all was said and done, animal control removed 70-some cats from the home; many of those were dead, some to the point of being skeletons. I’m no expert, but this woman must have no sense of smell whatsoever.  And do not get me started on the woman that has ROTTING FOOD ALL OVER THE HOUSE, because she simply FORGOT it was there.

While watching I was just first totally disgusted, I mean, how can you live like this? I mean, thank god that we don’t have the benefit of smell coming through the TV, because, seriously it LOOK nasty, can you imagine actually being able to smell the nasty? I actually gagged a couple of times!

But, there’s also the so called train wreck effect… You can’t quite look away, no matter no horrible the homes are. I found myself wondering how they got that way, how did they manage, will they ever be able to move beyond and lead normal lives? Sometimes the most painful part of the show is when you realized how hoarders are so unable to see what is so obvious to everyone else: YOUR HOME IS FULL OF CRAP. I mean, how sick must you been when your daughter (whom has leukemia) demanded that she choose between her stuff and her family, and she stubbornly chose the stuff.

Would I watch it again? I’m not sure.

But I can tell you this; I went through my house like a bat out of hell after watching this show. I went through every closet and donated a mountain of clothing Tom and I no longer wear. I dumped year’s worth of magazine and files and then stood panting in my pristine environment, because I’m pretty sure “Hoarders” isn’t good for me.

Leave a Reply

