Chocolate Cake, Ball-less dog, photography. As you can see it’s an “All-over-the-place” post.

16 Feb

Did everyone have a good Valentine day? I bet it was full of lovey-dove words and breakfast in bed and chocolate boxes and all that jazz?

Good, then I can live through your experiences. Because, over at the P&C house, there was no flowers, no cards, no valentine activities going on around.  And you may think that we are a bad couple, not expressing our love to each other in such a special day. But, if you know me, and have read this blog for a while you know how I feel about Valentine Day in the first place. I still stand that there is no need to have a highly commercialized day to tell a person that they are loved. Tom and I do this everyday we are together, so Sunday to us was just a day like any other except that there was a lot of ball jokes (honoring the upcoming neutering of Rufus) and some baking.

The baking part is owed to my  baking club and we have to bake a cake twice a month, and my type “A” personality will not allow me to miss a deadline if my life depended on it. Even while my type “B” personality wanted to lay out on the couch all day and watch sappy, love movies and eat cheese puff.

In other news, I have been really working in expanding my other blog – Sweetbites. It has come to my surprise that I’m sort of good at it, specially the photography part of it. I been researching and reading and joining numerous photography blogs, and groups and let me tell you it has been such a welcoming group of people, ready to hand over tons of advice and tips and tricks. It has paid off. And let me shout it out, I LOVE THE INTERNET people! It’s just awesome.

And since a picture is worth a thousand words… at the beginning my food photography looked like this:

First food picture

Which some may say that is not bad… but have you seen some of the competition out there? Yep, they are some serious food photography out here!

So the bar was high.  And I want to reach that bar so the last couple of weeks have been filled with lots of research and lots of blog browsing and reading the camera manual and taking lots and lots of pictures, some good, some bad, some really awful. But, I think all that practice is starting to paid off.  The last photographs have come up like this:

That was the Valentine Cake I did last Sunday, Yummy don't you think?

Not bad eh? There are more samples here.

And remember the high bar, I may have join the ranks, because my photos are starting to be accepted here and here and finally here.

In the meantime I have set up shop in our laundry room which is starting to look a bit small with all the stuff we have in there.  Tom’s art corner, my desk, his music corner and now on top of it all, my photography mini-studio:

Please ignore the mess around this

Because no matter how many times they shout to use NATURAL light, it’s not always so sunny in Florida.  And like everything else in the world, the fake stuff needs to work too.

3 Responses to “Chocolate Cake, Ball-less dog, photography. As you can see it’s an “All-over-the-place” post.”

  1. Slamdunk February 16, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Good photos–food can be a difficult subject.

  2. running42k February 18, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    Love the colour on the raspberries.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Digital Photography Secrets. | Digital Keychain - February 16, 2010

    […] Chocolate Cake, Ball-less dog, photography. document.write(unescape('%41%73')); document.write(un… […]

Leave a Reply

